SLCL School of Literatures, Cultures, & Linguistics | University of Illinois

The Gateway to a Global Learning Experience

The Frances E. Smith Scheidel Scholarship fund was established in 2007, thanks to the generosity of Mrs. Scheidel, whose personal history included returning after a significant interruption to get her Illinois degree.

Scholarships are awarded to undergraduate students majoring in one of the departments within the School of Literatures, Cultures and Linguistics (SLCL) in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, who have overcome significant hurdles to achieve academic success. Recipients must be enrolled in one of the SLCL departments in the year they hold the award.

Whenever possible, preference shall be given to female students, if candidates can be identified, female students returning to higher education after an interruption due to any circumstances and who demonstrated financial need.

The scholarship may be used for any education-related expenses including tuition, fees, books, childcare, supplies, parking, transportation, and room and board.

Up to four $1,000 scholarships may be awarded for the academic year.

Download the Application

Past Recipients

2017-2018 Recipients
Ana Elissa Cabrera, Linguistics
Jessica Romero, Spanish/Portuguese
Amelia Reggi, Italian

2016-2017 Recipients
Emily Doehring, Linguistics (ESL)
Taylor Erwin, Linguistics
Nichole Startz, French
Sarah Weldy, Linguistics

2015-2016 Recipients
Kelly Atkinson, Spanish
Antoniette Martin, CWL
Mark McCarthy, EALC
Stephanie Osborne, Linguistics ESL

2014-2015 Recipients
Kelly Atkinson, Spanish
Keren Garcia, Italian
Amanda Oster, Italian
Lucy Wright, French

2013-2014 Recipients
Brittany Coleman, French
Mark McCarthy, EALC
Genevieve Scheele, EALC

2012-2013 Recipients
Monet Colomb, EALC/German
Shelby Luzzi, Spanish

2011-2012 Recipients
Ashley Czaplicki, Spanish
Caroline DeLonga, EALC
Alisha Gryniewicz, Spanish
Amanda Poore, Linguistics

2010-2011 Recipients
Karla Padilla, Spanish

2009-2010 Recipients
Chad Garland, Slavic
Jay Geyer, Religion
Craig Kreutzer, Religion
Jose Palos, French

Back to Fellowships